The Sint Janshuismolen windmill is one of Bruges four windmills located on the banks of the outer canal ring on the east side of the town. It is one of two windmills in Bruges open to the public (the other can be spotted in the distance).
This is the only one of the four mills that has always been on this place. It was commissioned by the bakers of Bruges and constructed on this place in 1770. It stands on the place where there used to be another mill of the Saint-John's hospital (which was blown down in 1744). It is a wooden standardmill on four brick dice and it is accessible for the public and arranged as a museum.
Bruges has a rich history of mills. When the second walls were erected around the town (end of 13th century); spots were foreseen where mills were built. Maps of the 16th century show that there were no less than 23 windmills on the townwalls. Between the Kruispoort and the Dampoort, where the remaining mills are nowadays, there were eight.
March 11th, 2016
Viewed 5,195 Times - Last Visitor from New York, NY on 03/03/2024 at 1:49 AM